Update on transitional measure: EU ETS registries of Belgium, Estonia and Luxembourg to resume operations on 24 February

The national emissions registries of Belgium, Estonia and Luxembourg will resume normal operations on 24 February 2011 at 8am CET.
This decision follows completion by the Commission of its review of the reports from Belgium`s, Estonia`s and Luxembourg`s national registries on the adequacy of their security measures. With the reports submitted, the three countries have provided reasonable assurances that the minimum security requirements are in place.
The three registries mean that a total of ten will have resumed normal operations following the suspension from 19 January 2011 of transactions, except for the allocation and surrender of allowances, in all EU ETS national registries due to cases of cyber theft. The registries of France, Germany, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, and the UK have already resumed operations.
Cooperation with national authorities is constructive and the Commission expects several more reports to be submitted in the coming days.
The Commission will continue to provide updates on the situation and will announce the planned re-activation of each national registry 24 hours in advance.

(The announcement is available here)

Back to index